Northwood University Logo

Welcome to Northwood News.

Here you will find all the latest university news.

Celebrating Organizational Service Excellence

Last week Northwood University staff and faculty filed into Riepma Arena for a special event. The day featured a glimpse at our university’s future and our strategic initiatives, a wonderful lunch and fellowship, and our annual Service Awards. Together we celebrated employees at Northwood University who have served for five or more years. Two of those have served for 40 years! Incredible service starts with the incredible people who make up an organization, and there is no doubt Northwood University has plenty of those! Congratulations to all of our 2017 Service Award Recipients, we are honored to work with you every day to advance our mission and serve our students. A full listing of awardees is below.

This week, as I joined professionals from across Michigan at the annual Mackinac Policy Conference, I attended sessions on the future of our great state. I was reminded of the many great people we have in the Northwood University family who help to make not only Michigan better, but through the good work of our students, alumni and families, we are making a difference around the world.

I am proud to work with the great staff and faculty of Northwood, and proud to represent such a special university!

Have a great weekend,


The full list of 2017 Service Award recipients includes:

40 Years

Richard Teer, Custodian               

Cheryl Warner, Controller, Accounting & Finance

35 Years

Penny Perlberg, Data Transmission Coordinator 

Daniel Toland, Dir. Of Community College Partnerships  

30 Years

Susan Mishler, Director of Health Services                            

25 Years              

Lori Isenhart, HR Manager and Benefits Specialist             

DeLois Leapheart, Professor       

20 Years

Julie Adamczyk, Executive Director of Alumni Relations

Gary Bell, Cert Electrician

Robert Bidwell, Custodian

Lisa Fairbairn, Asst. VP and Dean of DeVos

Tricia Mead, Dir. of Compliance and Tax Matters

Ann Valley, Custodian

15 Years

Greg Alles, Senior Systems Administrator

Cassandra Barefield, Support Specialist

Rebecca Chakraborty, Associate Professor

Scott Fisher, Dir. of Strength and Conditioning

Judy Fox-Marchev, Program Center Manager/Adm. Rep

Ken Kehrer, Maintenance

Jennifer Luzar, Associate Professor

Nicholas Messing, Associate Dir. of Financial Aid

Sandra Popham, Asst. Program Center Manager, Cedar Hill

Angelic Wilkinson, Custodian

Robert Wisler, Director of Information Technology

Davis Yost, Associate Director of IT Security

10 Years

Brandi Cramer, Graduate Operations Coordinator                            

Stelian Grigoras, Chair, Professor

Douglas Hentschel, Chair, Associate Professor

Melissa Horn, Admissions Representative

Timothy Lamb, Assoc. Director of Admissions

Karl Stephan, VP of Finance, Treasurer

Angela Wood, Custodian

5 Years

Shelby Bailey, Welcome Center Specialist

Elgie Bright, Chair, Associate Professor

Kate Dornbos, Head Athletic Trainer

Jeffrey Pierce, Asst. Football Coach

Kyle Powell, Asst. Football Coach, IM/Club Sports Dir.

Alexander Tokarev, Associate Professor

Busy Summer Days Ahead

Remembering America’s Greatest Heroes